Tags

, , , , , , ,

“Too many people overvalue what they are not and undervalue what they are.” — Forbes

I was chatting with a friend about our new jobs as high school English teacher and grade school tutor. We finished our bachelor’s degree as latecomers, both in education. We had a lot of overcoming to get where we are today.

You’ll never guess what topic was up first….

Excitement? No.

Extra income? No.

Being employed, finally? No.

The hot theme was….fear!

This is how the conversation went down:

“Congrats on your new job!”

“Hey!  Thanks! What were they thinking, giving me a classroom?”

“Girl, you are the BOMB!  I know you’ll do a great job!”

“I’m pretty nervous.”

“You won’t be the only one.  I got a call today for a K-5 tutoring position.  I haven’t a clue.”

This, my friends, is communication gone bad.  Between the two of us we accomplished so much in work, in school, in raising a family. She and I are the geeky girls turned educators.  And we’ve had our share of time in the classroom as interns and subs, so we’re not totally green. How can we not be confident in our abilities to do this job and do it well?

Why do we let fear strip the joy from our lives and our accomplishments? Why can’t we ride on the confidence of past success, knowing that we can do this? Why do we always feel that we’re never good enough?

Such is the nature of adults. We take ourselves so seriously, so worried about making mistakes and feeling like a fool! So what if we stumble, aren’t perfect. Will it be the end of the world? Probably not.

So to my friend, and myself, I say – go confidently forward into our new careers. Be bold, be brave, be a positive force. Success will follow!

